Matt’s 5 Favorite Albums of 2011 – #4 The Sheepdogs – Five Easy Pieces

Here is number 4 of my 5 favorite albums of 2011…

THE SHEEPDOGS

Five Easy Pieces

Ok, so I’m only selecting this 5 song EP from The Sheepdogs because I can’t choose their latest full length album, Learn & Burn, since it technically came out in 2010. I didn’t hear about them until they broke through with the whole Rolling Stone cover thing, but I’m so glad I did.

Sure, there really isn’t anything new and groundbreaking on a Sheepdogs album and that’s the way I like it. Sometimes you need a band to go back to the well and pay tribute to the great music in our past. While listening to the Sheepdogs, you’ll here respectful homages to The Allman Brothers, Buffalo Springfield, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Crosby Stills & Nash, The Beatles and more, sometimes in one song. The EP starts off with blues in your face on the stand-out track, Who?, combining oh so perfect vocal harmonies.

On Five Easy Pieces you’ll also hear the radio version of their single, I Don’t Know, a different recording than on Learn & Burn. The recording quality in general is higher on Five Easy Pieces but I’m not sure I can say I prefer it, since the low-fi sound of Learn & Burn fit the feel of the record perfectly. With their new-found fame they’ll have to find ways to cope with the gloss that will inevitably be forced on top of their next record.

Stay tuned for #3

Leave a Reply

