Jak Phoenix 2 & The Journey of Life

With the release of my novel, Jak Phoenix 2: The Markazian Deception just around the corner, I found myself doing some reflecting on the events that have passed since I finished the first book. Since you’re reading this, you’ve probably realized I am now going to share them with you.

Life

It took me longer than I’d planned to get this far with Jak Phoenix 2, but I promise you it wasn’t purely to do with laziness. Writing this book was an exercise in determination.

I started writing the sequel in January 2010 and the process was punctuated with an assortment of life-related interruptions. Some bad, some good and some great! I also took a break soon after starting it to write the short story, Jak Phoenix: Paid in Full. (You can download that free at the Sony Reader Store, Kobo, Smashwords and iTunes/iBookstore.)

But, aside from trying to keep up with my hobbies of guitar playing and film-watching, I actually had some important stuff happen.

I married my lovely wife in October of 2010, so needless to say, a large chunk of the year was designated to the planning and stressing over our James Bond themed wedding. Yeah, that’s right. A James Bond themed wedding. She’s that cool.

I also spent most of 2011 doing a full, tear-the-walls-down renovation on our basement. I did this primarily alone, so that was a great way to absorb all of my free time.

Oh yeah, and after working at my full time job, I’m taking night courses. From time to time I try (not that hard) to maintain some sort of social relationships. I know many people are far more busy, but I just wanted to lay out my excuses up front.

In the end, I finally finished it. And it feels good.

About the Book

With Jak Phoenix 2, I had some different goals in mind than on the first novel. I wanted to keep the humor and action at a level as high as the first book, but I wanted to keep the story grounded in a smaller galactic region. In Jak Phoenix 1, they were flying all over the galaxy. I wanted to see how Jak might react with some restrictions on not only his movements, but his actions.

I also made it a goal to ensure the villain was not as clear. In the first novel, the villain was as big as a planet, but this time I wanted to create a story where things weren’t so easily figured out. Fewer villains wearing black hats, as they say. I wanted more twists and turns, and a stronger sense of mystery.

I also wanted to put the characters through more emotionally difficult situations and experiment with creating a rising level of dramatic intrigue. Don’t worry, Jak is still a lazy smart ass, but maybe he is a man who can be beaten … or hurt … or deceived. What happens when his selfishness starts to affect the people around him?

In the end, it’s still a simple pulp space opera story meant to supply you with big spills, thrills and chills, and a heavy helping of humour. But, by the end you’ll see something more sinister might be brewing in the Azore’s Crown galaxy.

Jak Phoenix 2: The Markazian Deception - Space Adventure eBook

2 Responses to Jak Phoenix 2 & The Journey of Life

  1. Pingback: Jak Phoenix 2 & The Journey of Life « The Jak Phoenix Universe

  2. VigRoco says:

    Developing your house while you develop your characters? Crafty.

Leave a Reply

