My interview at Herladyshipsquest.com with Tracy Falbe

jak phoenix 1 and jak phoenix 2: the markazian deception paperback booksI was interviewed by fantasy author Tracy Falbe yesterday and we discussed writing, inspiration and my character Jak Phoenix. Here’s a snippet of that interview:

With two novels and a short story to his name (and a few good reviews) Canadian indie author Matt D. Williams reveals what he likes about his low-achiever hero Jak Phoenix and his writing goals.

1. Why space opera? What elements of this genre do you enjoy most as a writer?

As far back as I can remember, I’ve always been attracted to sprawling space opera-type tales with an inherent lighter tone. There is just something about an action packed pulp story told on a grand scale that gets my heart pumping and my mind racing. The big heroes, the diabolical villains, the explosions, the space pistols – fun stuff.

There are many very talented authors out there who are doing exceptional work with harder technical sci-fi. They would flatten me in a second if I attempted to join that game, but that type of story just doesn’t suit my personality. I set out to make a series of books you could pull out of your back pocket on a rainy Sunday afternoon and be quickly lost in a fun escapist adventure. Like life, the Jak Phoenix series will grow a little darker as it matures, but I will always be sure to remember where this tale came from.

All in all I set out to write a book I would enjoy as a kid, a teen, or an adult. Something a “regular” person could enjoy, even if he or she were oblivious to most science fiction. I wanted to read something that would make me feel the way I felt the first time I saw Luke and Han arguing over a princess while trying to blast their way out of an evil space station…

Head over to Tracy’s website and read the full interview.

I’d like to send a big thanks to Tracy for this opportunity!

Matt D. Williams

One Response to My interview at Herladyshipsquest.com with Tracy Falbe

  1. matt says:

    Reblogged this on The Jak Phoenix Universe and commented:

    Author Matt D. Williams was interviewed by fantasy author Tracy Falbe where he discusses his inspirations, writing in general and the character of Jak Phoenix. Check it all out!

Leave a Reply

